beat your mind…

digital-drug-binaural-beats

Many people struggle on their path to meditative states of consciousness, becoming downtrodden when their minds refuse to obey the orders to be silent and blank.  A cycle of periodic “empty” mind moments infiltrated by incoming thoughts erupts, infuriating the practitioner whom simply wants to achieve a peaceful state on their path to personal enlightenment.

For years, I grappled with these rules I believed surrounded meditation which kept me from achieving the insight I was seeking. There were even times I thought I was just incapable of quieting my mind; it always seemed I had thoughts rushing in and out faster than I could realize them.

Eventually, I came to understand it wasn’t always an empty mind that was necessarily the effective component for growth and expansion in my meditations, but the peaceful, uncontrolled viewing of the visualizations that ebbed and flowed through my mind. Still, I wanted to experience that all calm, extreme expansion that comes from a higher meditative state; that’s when I discovered binaural beats.

Binaural Beats: What They Are 

Binaural beats are a variation of brainwave entrainment, creating an oscillation effect between the frequencies flowing into each ear and the frequency resonated in the brain.  The oscillation effect is what happens when ringing a tuning fork and placing it next to another tuning fork at rest; if the tuning forks play the same note, or vibrate on the same frequency, the tuning fork at rest will begin to ring.

Two different frequencies stream into the ears of an individual, preferably wearing headphones, creating a binaural beat within the brain. By introducing one frequency in one ear, and another in the opposite ear, the hemispheres of the brain are obliged to interact and communicate with one another to hear the binaural beat, causing hemisphere synchronicity. Evidence has implicated both the superior olivary nucleus in the brainstem and the inferior colliculus as the area(s) where the binaural beat is created and heard within the brain.

thanks polly anna 

6 thoughts on “beat your mind…

  1. Hello, Dimitri! I just wanted to drop by and say thank you for reading and liking my article/post enough to repost it! I was just wanted to ask you to please credit my writing to Polly Anna with a link back to my blog. I’d super appreciate it. Thanks so much!

Please use the comments to demonstrate your own ignorance, unfamiliarity with empirical data, ability to repeat discredited memes, and lack of respect for scientific knowledge. Also, be sure to create straw men and argue against things I have neither said nor even implied. Any irrelevancies you can mention will also be appreciated. Lastly, kindly forgo all civility in your discourse . . . you are, after all, anonymous :)

