hunger games – racist tweets

Oh brother, here we go again!  In just one weekend, Hunger Games has become the blockbuster phenomenon we all knew it would. The box office numbers are on fire (pun intended), and most fans seem pleased with how the book translated to screen … I say most, because there are actually some fans who didn’t read the books closely enough, it seems, and/or seem to think the film’s cast should have been completely whitewashed.

 

Cover of

Cover of The Hunger Games

 

Specifically, some fans were disappointed with the casting of Amandla Stenberg as Rue, a character, who might I note, was first described in the book as “a twelve-year-old girl from District 11. She has dark brown skin and eyes, but other than that, she’s very like Prim in size and demeanor.” Nonetheless, after seeing Stenberg in the film, these fans took to Twitter to write distressed, racist tweets. Ugh.

“The Hunger Games” and stars Lenny Kravitz and Amandla Stenberg have been targeted in a series of racist tweets.  The bulk of the complaints center on the casting of black actors as characters that some Twitter users argue were portrayed as white in the Suzanne Collins‘ hit book.  Kravitz plays a stylist named Cinna.

Yeah, it was as bad as it sounds…  Many of the tweets are peppered with racial slurs.

One particularly shocking tweet reads: “Sense when has Rue been a nigger.”

Another alluding to Rue’s untimely death reads: “call me racist but when i found out rue was black her death wasn’t as sad #ihatemyself.”

Another Twitter page that no longer exists wrote, “Why does Rue have to be black. Not gonna lie, kinda ruined the movie.”

Another, whose account has also been deleted, tweeted, Awkward moment when Rue is some black girl and not the innocent blonde girl you picture.”

What the hell? Who are these people?! Listen, it’s bad enough that they’re ignorant enough to

a.) not realize that Rue was cast perfectly, given her description in the book and

b.) have a problem with the color of her skin.

But then to go and broadcast that to the entire world via Twitter? What an idiot move. No wonder they deleted their accounts. They should be ashamed of themselves.

You know, this is a perfect example of how just because social media offers anyone a megaphone to express themselves to a ginormous audience, it doesn’t mean everyone deserves that megaphone. Because clearly, some people are too ignorant, close-minded, and hateful to use it wisely.

As I’ve always said, when will humans match socks by color and not people?  Don’t people understand that it takes sooo much energy to be f*chking stupid?!  Man this is tiring…

#racismsucks

4 thoughts on “hunger games – racist tweets

  1. I have not read the books nor seen the movie but will do so now. What is wrong with the world when people are STILL judged by the color of their skin.

    I had my DNA done a few years back as part of an anthropology study. I think everyone should have it done. Those who think they are so pure bred would be surprised. Look at my photo would you guess I have subsaharan heritage. I bet if DNA testing was done at least some might “see” things in a new light. Others I guess would then hate themselves.

    Thanks for sharing my friend.

    • This was my thought exactly! It made me that much more interested now. For some reason, I think people do things like this intentionally to stir up emotion and bring them to the forefront. Although I don’t think it’s the healthiest way to dialogue, the fact is the dialogue happens, and people have to confront themselves or be confronted.

      To your DNA testing: I found it interesting a study done (I saw it on video when I was in college) that showed that we are often times more closely related genetically to people who are different from us phenotypically. The study tested a group of ethnically and racially diverse youth, but not before the youth had to hypothesize who they they were most similar to genetically. Boy were they shocked! I’ll have to ask my anthropology prof for the title again:-)

  2. I haven’t read the book or seen the movie, but knowing the fact that there are racial comments out there coming out of irate fans mouths disgusts me. I can’t believe this is still a problem….

Please use the comments to demonstrate your own ignorance, unfamiliarity with empirical data, ability to repeat discredited memes, and lack of respect for scientific knowledge. Also, be sure to create straw men and argue against things I have neither said nor even implied. Any irrelevancies you can mention will also be appreciated. Lastly, kindly forgo all civility in your discourse . . . you are, after all, anonymous :)

