eat. relax. change.

We all learn many things out of every day and every experience. In the middle of things and everyday life,

Hammock - Polynesia.

I often catch myself realizing lessons and telling myself that they‘re good to note and to share. So here are some. I’ll try to add to this list as often as I can.

1. Eat slowly.

Have you ever finished a meal and wondered how it tasted? Sometimes we take eating for granted. We eat whatever is convenient and available. We eat sloppily. We eat while we work. And when we do something else while we eat, we actually finish the food without experiencing it. What we fail to appreciate is that eating is not only about nourishment, it’s an experience that we can enjoy.

2. People can try to say bad things to you but they could never hurt you unless you allow yourself to get hurt.

The people who know me know that I’m the kind of person who could never get offended. Nothing and no one can ever try to bring me down. Not because I’m too flawless that they can’t find anything to criticize. It’s just that there’s nothing you can tell me that can affect the way I see and know myself.

3. Do not be mad at people for most of the time, they know not what they do or what they say.

If you tell me my painting is crap, I won’t mind. I’ll just tell myself that not all people know how to appreciate art. If you don’t get my point, I won’t mind. I know that people only believe what they want to believe and hear only what they want to hear. There’s no point explaining to anyone because they already have their opinions made.

4. There’s no point worrying because life goes on and everything happens for a reason.

If there’s one thing we have to realize, that is that we can only do so much. Whatever happens after we’ve done our best is already beyond our control. Say if I lose my job, why do I have to worry? Worrying doesn’t land me another job. When life throws me lemons, I make lemonades. Instead of feeling bad about losing my job, I’d prefer to think about what to do with my new situation and my free time and how I can make it work for me instead of against me.

5. Nothing stays the same.

If someone starts treating me a different way than before, I won’t mind. I know that nothing stays the same. People change, things change, circumstances change. We cannot really hold onto anything forever. We cannot expect people to love us forever or to care about us forever. Your friends are not your friends forever. But it’s not the end of the world. Life is good and the world is big.

6. There’s a lot of complicated things that are hard to understand and cannot be explained.

If there’s something I don’t know, I say I don’t know. Either I get the answer from another person or I look it up and find out about it. If I never get an answer, I don’t mind. No one could possibly know everything. If there’s something I don’t know, that makes me a normal person. And it’s no big deal.

7. It’s not always about you.

If you remember this, you save yourself from a lot of worry. Stop being paranoid. If someone says something that hurts you, move on. Because the truth is, people’s behavior, actions, reactions and speech — they’re not always about you.

Wait, I’m just going to eat…

thank you for the inspiration cultredesk!

2 thoughts on “eat. relax. change.

  1. I couldn’t help but share it on my wall too. Some really good things are written here that can help us in our daily life. no rocket science just a few things that we know but fail to remember wen the situation arises. very nicely put into words, thank you for reminding a few impt things:)

Please use the comments to demonstrate your own ignorance, unfamiliarity with empirical data, ability to repeat discredited memes, and lack of respect for scientific knowledge. Also, be sure to create straw men and argue against things I have neither said nor even implied. Any irrelevancies you can mention will also be appreciated. Lastly, kindly forgo all civility in your discourse . . . you are, after all, anonymous :)

