Pain IS Good for You!

Ask any Medical Doctor and he’ll tell you that pain is your friend. Pain is a great alarm clock with an important message:

Stop what you’re doing right now! You are damaging the system! You must stop NOW!

If you place your hand on a hot burner you don’t need a self-help book to tell you to move it in a hurry. If it weren’t for pain, many an idiot would go up in flames watching their fingers, saying “Ooooue, pretty fire….”. You’re not an idiot though. So why continue doing something that keeps giving you pain? Pain is the most common motivator on earth. The question is how long are you going to let that alarm clock go off before you turn it off and how loud… just how much pain have you decided you have to experience before you turn it off, either by changing your perception or changing what you’re doing? That’s all you have to decide. Before you decide though, answer this question……

“Do you think man made cars better than God made man?”

Do you think man made cars better than God made man? Silly question? Maybe not. Think about the alarm that goes off when you leave the key in the ignition, its a sweet, gentle ‘ding… ding… ding…’ and then we calmly reach down and pull the key from the ignition. Well, at least most of us do. (grin) With such a quick correction, who needs a huge alarm that drives you crazy right? Aha…. that’s the point right there. The quicker you make the connection, the easier it is to make the correction. When you choose to listen to the alarm clock, get the message and utilize it immediately, you no longer need to suffer so much pain.

“Remember: The quicker you make the connection the easier it is to make the correction.”

That’s what we’re here for – to provide the best tools to help reduce your unnecessary emotional suffering and increase your healthy happiness. No one can do it for you and reading this page won’t help much either. What really will work to reduce pain is to PRACTICE utilizing your pain when you experience it. Hit the snooze button on the pain by taking a break from it, get into your brain, make decisions about how much pain you’re willing to experience before you change your perceptions and/or what you’re doing. Look for and find a win-win-win solution.

I hear and I forget.
I see and I believe.
I do and I understand.
~ Confucius (551-479 BC)

3 thoughts on “Pain IS Good for You!

  1. For me, it all comes down to how much pain am I willing to take for one person/situation. Pain doesn’t bother me, it is a part of life. It reminds me of how human and real I am. For some people/situations, I am only willing to take minimal pain for minimal amounts of time. But for those who I love and that deserve it, my threshold for pain is unlimited. I don’t think the question is so much about if we should endure pain or not, but are those that we are enduring that pain for worthy of our actions?

  2. @ Satch, not sure *I* personally think this is healthy. As I noted above, pain is a indicator that its time for change and to stop doing or allowing whats been done to continue.

    Why block the punch if you don’t have to stand in the way of it?

  3. @D, pain comes in many different forms. I endure the pain of not spending as much time as I would like to with my son, because I know that finishing my degree will pay off in the long run. Many people endure the pain of a loved one being overseas, fighting our war. There are many types of pain and many reasons to endure it.
    LIving a life free from pain, to me, isnt living at all. Why “block the punch” just so that life is easier? And sometimes, it is better to endure a little pain now, to prevent yourself even more pain in the future.

Please use the comments to demonstrate your own ignorance, unfamiliarity with empirical data, ability to repeat discredited memes, and lack of respect for scientific knowledge. Also, be sure to create straw men and argue against things I have neither said nor even implied. Any irrelevancies you can mention will also be appreciated. Lastly, kindly forgo all civility in your discourse . . . you are, after all, anonymous :)

